D E O R A N G E R I E
A place where the past meets the present
Charming renovated 15th-century convent on Den Dijver canal in the centre of Bruges.
Past and present mingle in a décor of antiquities and fresh, airy colours.
In the summer, a terrace with a view of the canal for ‘high tea’ and in the winter a crackling fireplace.
IN SOME DETAIL...
Hotel de Orangerie, located in the heart of Bruges and walking distance from the shops and historical sites, is a renovated 15th-century convent. Situated in a charming cityscape on the banks of the picturesque Dijver canal.
Like a true oasis of elegance, Hotel de Orangerie is overflowing with engravings, old paintings, tapestries, silk curtains and antiques, all of which lend it a beautiful, nostalgic charm. The combination of antique furniture and the contemporary, pastel-tinted interior lends the hotel a cosy yet fresh and modern allure.
Hence, it deserves it's place among the 'Small Luxury Hotels Of The World' (SLH)
Enjoy a breakfast or an English Afternoon Tea basking in the sun on the terrace overlooking the water, warm and cosy in the oak dining room or relaxing in a chair by the fireplace. View the sites from on-board a canal boat or in a horse-drawn carriage before taking a seat at one of the many gourmet restaurants that Bruges has to offer.
20 ROOMS | 3 FLOORS | 1 LIFT
--- CHECK IN ---
⚜ 3:00 PM
--- CHECK OUT ---
⚜ 11:00 AM
--- HOTEL FACILITIES ---
⚜ Garage parking
⚜ Non-smoking rooms available
⚜ Wi-Fi available in rooms
--- ROOM FACILITIES ---
⚜ Air conditioning in room
⚜ Bath or shower
⚜ Bathrobe (on request) & Slippers
⚜ Full size mirror
⚜ Iron & ironing board
⚜ Television (international channels)
⚜ Wi-Fi in room
⚜ Twin rooms are upon request at €25 per room per stay
--- SERVICES ---
⚜ Butler service
⚜ Childcare service
⚜ Laundry service
⚜ Multilingual staff
⚜ Room service
⚜ Safety deposit box
⚜ SLH member service & advantages
A BIT OF HISTORY...
The origins of this luxurious hotel stretch all the way back to 1580, when the Carthusians settled here. During the centuries that followed, the nuns of the Carthusian Order enlarged their humble quarters into a sizeable cloister.
In 1783, the cloister was abolished. The convent buildings soon fell into disrepair. The governing body of the church tried for some time to breathe new life into the buildings by bringing together several sisters here in 1790. Six years later, the curtain finally fell when the French shut down the convent.
In the 19th century, the Zusters van Liefde (Sisters of Love) from Ghent occupied the old Carthusian convent. After that, the historical complex was used as a carriage house, as a private home and later as a tearoom. It was only in the second half of the 1980's that is was converted into a hotel.